Yun Hau Ng

Chemical Engineering
Contact details:

Tyree Energy Technology Building room 351

Yun Hau Ng is a lecturer in the School of Chemical Engineering, UNSW.

I completed a PhD in Chemistry with the Research Center for Solar Energy Chemistry at Osaka University (Japan) in 2009. With the GCOE-Japan Fellowship, I went to the Radiation Laboratory at the University of Notre Dame (USA) to study photoelectrochemistry of charge transfer/interaction in semiconductors. In 2011, I obtained the Australian Postdoctoral Fellowship offered by the Australian Research Council to work in the ARC Centre of Excellence for Functional Nanomaterials at UNSW.


Research Interest

Recognizing the importance of renewable & alternative energy sources for sustainable development, My research is focused on the

(1)     Physical and photoelectrochemical understanding of nanostructured photoactive semiconductors, targeting on utilising sunlight energy more efficiently.

(2)     Design of functional photoactive materials with excellent charge separation/transport properties, and

(3)     Applications in photo(electro)chemical water splitting, hydrogen generation and photo-(re)charging to convert and store sunlight as electrical or chemical fuel.


Current Projects and Students

Main supervisor

  •   Peng Wang, PhD candidate (2011 – now): Development of p-type Cu2O for photoelectrochemical water splitting
  •   Yiming Tang, PhD candidate (2011 – now): Photoactive sulphide materials (CuInS2)
  •   Shi Nee Lou, PhD candidate (2013 – now): Development of molybdenum-based oxide for light energy conversion and storage
  •   Hui Ling Tan, PhD candidate (2013 – now): Graphene and BiVO4 for light energy conversion
  •   Adrian Suyanto, ToR student (2014): Anodised Cu2O photoelectrochemical cells
  •   And a number of undergraduate students joining the group for Thesis A and Thesis B


  •   Minsu Jung, PhD candidate (2011 – now): Copper decorated TiO2 for hydrogen generation
  •   Tze Hao Tan, PhD candidate (2013 – now): Development of combinatorial reactor system for CO2 remediation using photoinduced H2.



CEIC2004 – Industrial Chemistry for Chemical Engineers

INDC2003 – Instrumental Analysis (Course co-ordinator)

CHEN6703 – Advanced Particle System Engineering


Competitive Research Grants

Since 2009 I have attracted over $1 million research funding, mainly from the Australian Research Council.

  • “Nanostructured photoactive thin films for solar hydrogen and solar batteries”, 2014, UNSW Goldstar Award, $40,000.
  • “Non-precious fuel cell cathode catalysts from carbon-based nanohybrids: a computational to experimental quest”, 2013, ARC Discovery Project DP130102420, $330,000.
  • “Engineering nanostructured graphene-based semiconductor photocatalysis”, 2011, ARC Discovery Project DP110101638, $460,000.
  • “Nanostructured solid state solar cells based on titania nanotube arrays”, 2010, CERPA PS20424, $20,000.
  • Research grant for Young Researcher in Environmental & Energy Research, 2008, Japanese Yen 350,000.
  • 2 Major Research Equipment and Infrastructure Initiative (MREII), $235,000.
  • 2 Faculty International Travel Grant, $6,000.


Awards & Recognitions

2014:    Goldstar Award

2013:    OzCarbon Award (Early career researcher’s presentation)

2013:    Honda-Fujishima Prize (by the Electrochemical Society of Japan)

2012:    1st UNSW Postdoctoral Academy Award (publishing award)

2011:    ARC Postdoctoral Fellowship (APD)

2008:    Japan Global Center of Excellence Fellowship

2007:    International COE Symposium on Integrated Ecochemistry, Japan (presentation award)

2005:    Monbusho Fellowship (by the Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology Japan)

2003:    National Science Fellowship, Malaysia



  • Prof. Rose Amal and Dr. Jason Scott (Sch. Chem. Eng., UNSW)
  • Dr. Stuart Thickett (CAMD Sch. Chem. Eng., UNSW)
  • Dr. Chuan Zhao (Sch. Chem., UNSW)
  • Prof. Nagarajan Valanoor (Sch. Mater. Sci., UNSW)
  • A/Prof. Aijun Du (Queensland Univ. Tech.)
  • A/Prof. Timothy Tan (Nanyang Tech. Univ., Singapore)
  • Prof. Akihiko Kudo and Dr. Akihide Iwase (Tokyo Univ. Sci., Japan)
  • Prof. Prashant Kamat (Univ. Notre Dame, USA)
  • Prof. Michio Matsumura and A/P. Shigeru Ikeda (Osaka Univ., Japan)


PhD Scholarship Opportunity

We are looking for highly motivated, intelligent and team-playing students of exceptional research potential to do their PhD or Honours degrees in our group. You will need to apply to UNSW via the regular graduate admission process.

A scholarship is available for a Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) student in the field of carbon catalysis/photocatalysis at the School of Chemical Engineering, UNSW under the supervision of Dr. Yun Hau Ng. The subject of the PhD will concern the design, synthesis, characterisation of nanostructured carbon composite to act as efficient thermal catalyst and photocatalyst for the generation of chemical fuel.

Interested candidates should have completed either Master degree or Honours degrees in chemical engineering, chemistry, industrial chemistry, materials or related discipline with strong academic records. Experience in materials synthesis and physical/chemical characterisation is essential, knowledge of physical chemistry and electrochemistry is preferred. Suitable candidates will need to apply to UNSW via the graduate admission process, but are recommended to first send their CVs to Dr. Yun Hau Ng for consideration and discussion.